Fish Explorer Logo
Texas Fishing
Texas Fishing  
Login Usr:Psd:
No account? Register now...
spacer spacer
Texas Fishing News Back to Texas Fishing News

FLW College Fishing Invitational heads to Kentucky Lake

Forty-five college teams have qualified for this event and will be competing for a top award of $4,000 and a berth in the 2015 College Fishing National Championship.

"The fishing has been tough because the fish are scattered, but I think that by tournament time it should pick up and get good," said George Foreman pro Dan Morehead, a 14-time Forrest Wood Cup qualifier. "The fish are in a transition stage, and starting to move shallow and back into the bays because the bait is starting its fall migration.

"There should be some topwater action around bait, and you can fish spinnerbaits on windy banks and on transitional areas," said the Paducah, Ky. native. "There will be some fish on offshore ledges too, but they won’t be deep. They will be on shallower ledges that are 6- to 8-feet deep on top and have wood or shell beds on them. The fish will be shallow and spread out, so you can’t find them with (Lowrance) Structure Scan. You’ll have to cover a lot of water to find them."

Morehead, who has earned 11 top-10 finishes in FLW competition on Kentucky Lake, said that moving around and adjusting each day would be critical because of how closely the bass tend to follow the baitfish in the fall. He said that though he prefers to power-fish and throw moving baits in the fall period, a jig and a worm on ledges where a team has located fish wouldn’t be out of place.

"If they hit the weather right and it isn’t too windy, it could take anywhere from 40 to 43 pounds to win," said Morehead. "If they don’t, I think it could still take 36 pounds to win."

Anglers will take off from Moors Resort and Marina located at 570 Moors Road in Gilbertsville at 6:30 a.m each day. Weigh-in will be held at the takeoff location starting at 2:30 p.m. on Saturday and at Walmart located at 310 W. 5th St. in Benton, Ky., at 3:30 p.m. on Sunday. Takeoffs and weigh-ins are free and open to the public.

Schools competing in the Kentucky Lake tournament, which is hosted by the Marshall County Tourist Commission, include:

Eastern Kentucky University – Kyle Raymer, Brandenburg, Ky., and Ethan Snyder, Vine Grove, Ky.

Eastern Kentucky University – Travis Spivey, Trenton, Ohio, and Billy French, Hamilton, Ohio

Georgetown College – John Hunter, Georgetown, Ky., and Mike Huff, Corbin, Ky.

Illinois State University – Bryce Wegman and Carlos Thomas, both of Normal, Ill.

Indiana State University – Mason Clarey, Perrysville, Ind., and Robert Nero, Carlisle, Ind.

Indiana University – Brody McWilliams, Greenwood, Ind., and Derrick Hoffman, South Elgin, Ill.

Iowa State University – Andrew Paulsen, Ames, Iowa, and Dustin Kroening, McHenry, Ill.

Iowa State University – McKinley Geiger, Ames, Iowa, and Shane Weinberg, Plainfield, Iowa

Kansas State University – Nathan Kozlowski, Junction City, Kan., and Lance Maldonado, Chapman, Kan.

Lindsey Wilson College – Austin Grigsby, Stanford, Ky., and Shade Jacobs, Lexington, Ky.

McKendree University – Austin Chapman, Blue Mound, Ill., and Brian McClanahan, Elkville, Ill.

McKendree University – Phillip Germagliotti, Highland, Ill., and Dustin Pendegraft, Summerfield, Ill.

Missouri State University – Nick King, St. Louis, Mo., and Kyle Doherty, Chesterfield, Mo.

Murray State University – Cody Santel, Petersburg, Ill., and Justin Berger, Freeburg, Ill.

Murray State University – Justin Graben, Murray, Ky. and Dan Schult, Millstadt, Ill.

Murray State University – Lance Freeman, Eddyville, Ky., and Seth Brock, Cedar Hill, Tenn.

Northern Kentucky University – Brandon Houston, Burlington, Ky., and Zach Dressman, Morning View, Ky.

Northwest Missouri State University – Andrew Nordbye, St. Joseph, Mo., and Emily Porter, Kearny, Mo.

Purdue University-Fort Wayne – Parker Watts and Joseph Sittler, both of Fort Wayne, Ind.

St. Cloud State University – Troy Switajewski, St. Cloud, Minn., and Souvan Yang, St. Paul, Minn.

Southeast Missouri State – Tim Randell, St. Charles, Mo., and Russell Vandiver, Cape Girardeau, Mo.

Southern Illinois University – Kyle Schingoethe, Itasca, Ill., and Dominick Dinovo, Oak Lawn, Ill.

Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville – Dalton Wesley, Worden, Ill., and Dan Calcaterra, Edwardsville, Ill.

Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville – Zach Hartnagel, Edwardsville, Ill., and Colten Hunter, Brownstown, Ill.

University of Dubuque – Austin Brimeyer, Dubuque, Iowa, and Anthony Riesberg, Dyersville, Iowa

University of Dubuque – Brandon Feldman, Sherrill, Iowa, and Eric Nie, Jesup, Iowa

University of Evansville – Nick Uebelhor, and Eric Kieffner, both of Jasper, Ind.

University of Iowa – Mark Krutzfield, Iowa City, Iowa, and Tony Mehrl, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

University of Kentucky – Ryan Collins, Lebanon, Ohio, and Andrew Day, Versailles, Ky.

University of Minnesota – Austin Felix, Eden Prairie, Minn., and Chris Burgan, Rhinelander, Wis.

University of Minnesota-Duluth – James Chapman, South Haven, Minn., and Erik Gaffron, Maple Grove, Minn.

University of Minnesota-Duluth – Joseph Miller, White Bear Lake, Minn., and Jill Erickson, Sandstone, Minn.

University of Missouri – Ben Verhoef, Osage Beach, Mo., and Christian Ponzetti, Excelsior, Minn.

University of Nebraska – William McCabe, Lincoln, Neb., and Jon Bash, Grayslake, Ill.

University of Saint Thomas – Michaela Anderson, Lino Lakes, Minn., and Bryan Billeadeau, Circle Pines, Minn.

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse – Sig Finley, Wonder Lake, Ill., and Pat Bowers, Hudson, Wis.

University of Wisconsin-Platteville – Ryan Gilbert, Sterling, Ill., and Brett Daggett, Cottage Grove, Wis.

University of Wisconsin-Platteville – Jered Lex, Cottage Grove, Wis., and Evan Chambers, St. Charles, Ill.

University of Wisconsin-Steven Point – Matt Feiten, Stevens Point, Wis., and Kyle Casper, Itasca, Ill.

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point – Cody Hahner, Wausau, Wis., and Mark Hugus, Stevens Point, Wis.

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater – Jared Mataczynski, Wausau, Wis., and Steve Nebel, Whitewater, Wis.

Western Illinois University – Travis Wilson, La Harpe, Ill., and Caleb Shoemaker, Blandinsville, Ill.

Western Illinois University – Jackson Grabeel, Taylor Ridge, Ill., and Craig Wise, Cary, Ill.

Western Kentucky University – Ryan Coleman, Utica, Ky., and Stephen Compton, Brandenburg, Ky.

Winona State University – Cade Laufenberg, Stoddard, Wis., and Wyatt Stout, Winona, Minn.

FLW College Fishing teams compete in three qualifying events in one of five conferences – Central, Northern, Southern, Southeastern and Western. The top 15 teams from each regular-season tournament will qualify for one of five conference invitational tournaments. The top 10 teams from each conference invitational tournament will advance to the 2015 FLW College Fishing National Championship.

College Fishing is free to enter. All participants must be registered, full-time undergraduate students at a four-year college or university and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.