Fish Explorer Logo
Texas Fishing
Texas Fishing  
Login Usr:Psd:
Don't have an account? Register now...
spacer spacer
Texas Fishing News Back to Texas Fishing News
FLW press release
MINNEAPOLIS (Aug. 1, 2012) – FLW announced today that Castrol, a long-term sponsor of FLW, the world’s leading tournament-fishing organization, will be the presenting sponsor of the EverStart Series Championship. The championship event takes place Nov. 1-4 on the Ouachita River in Monroe, La.

The EverStart Series Championship will be nationally broadcast in high-definition (HD) on NBC Sports Network when “FLW” airs Jan. 6, 2013, from 1-2 p.m. ET. "FLW" is hosted by Jason Harper and is broadcast to more than 559 million households worldwide, making it the most widely distributed weekly outdoors-sports television show in the world.

The EverStart Series consists of five divisions – Central, Northern, Southeast, Texas and Western. Each division consists of four tournaments, and competitors vey for valuable points that help them qualify for the championship event. The top 40 pro and co-angler point earners from each respective division qualify for the EverStart Series Championship.

Castrol first signed on as an FLW sponsor in 2000, and over the years has continued to show support and commitment to tournament fishing. David Dudley, Darrel Robertson, Mike Surman, and Phillip Jarabek comprise the 2012 team representing Castrol at all FLW Tour events.

Dudley was recently named the FLW Tour Angler of the Year, his third title in five years. With the title, Dudley became the first pro to win back-to-back AOY crowns. The title is determined by the most points accumulated over the six Tour Majors over the course of the season. Dudley earned $100,000 plus a berth in the 2013 Forrest Wood Cup in addition to the AOY title. Dudley’s previous Angler of the Year titles came in 2011 and 2008.

The Angler of the Year title pushed FLW’s leading money winner past the $3 million mark. He was the youngest angler to the $2 million mark. He has accumulated six FLW wins, 35 top-10 finishes and has qualified for 14 Forrest Wood Cup appearances in his 17 years as a pro. Key wins in Dudley’s career include the 2003 Forrest Wood Cup on the James River, where he won $500,000, and the 2002 Ranger M1 Millennium that brought a $700,000 payday.

Robertson in marking his 16th year of FLW competition and is fifth on the all-time top money winner’s list with more than $1.7 million in winnings. In 1999 he won the coveted Forrest Wood Cup championship title. Surman has one FLW Tour victory and 18 top-10 finishes during his 17-year professional career with FLW. Jarabeck, a young up-and-comer, will be fishing his second FLW Tour season as a co-angler and has already earned four top-10 finishes.

Along with being named the presenting sponsor of the EverStart Championship, Castrol continues to garner exposure across all of FLW’s platforms, including its tournaments and Expos, multiple websites, FLW Bass Fishing and FLW Walleye Fishing magazines.

Castrol is also hosting a “Protect Your Ride” contest and will be giving away a 2012 Chevy Camaro RS and other prizes. The winner of the new Camaro will be announced at the FLW Forest Wood Cup in Duluth, Ga., on August 12. The Protect Your Ride Tour can be seen at select FLW Tour events throughout the year.