Fish Explorer Logo
Texas Fishing
Texas Fishing  
Login Usr:Psd:
Don't have an account? Register now...
spacer spacer
Texas Fishing News Back to Texas Fishing News
National Guard FLW College Fishing Southern Conference Headed To Toledo Bend
FLW press release
MANY, La. (May 23, 2012) – National Guard FLW College Fishing is headed to Toledo Bend June 2 for the final qualifying event in the Southern Conference. Forty college teams will be competing for a top award of $5,000 and a berth in the Southern Conference Championship tournament.

“There is a ton of grass and hydrilla deep,” said FLW pro Cody Bird of Granbury, Texas. “A drought really changes a lake, and now that water levels have returned to normal Toledo Bend is full of deep grass and vegetation. There is also a ton of cotton willow providing even more cover for the bass.

“I would recommend using crankbaits, Carolina rigs and big jigs in the grass,” Bird continued. “This tournament will either be won off of structure or flipping the grass. Young anglers should fish their strength. Toledo Bend is a big lake with a lot of fish. It should be a really fun tournament for them.”

Anglers will take off from Cypress Bend Park located at 3462 Cypress Bend Drive in Many, La., at 6:30 a.m. Saturday. Weigh-in will also be at the marina beginning at 1:30 p.m. Takeoff and weigh-in are free and open to the public.

Schools competing in the Toledo Bend tournament, hosted by the Sabine-Parish Tourist Commission & Sabine River Authority, include:

Angelo State – Josh Seale, San Angelo, Texas, and Ryan Ward, Big Spring, Texas
Arkansas Tech University – Reagan Moore and Evan Barnes, both of Russellville, Ark.
Baylor University – Joseph Garland, West, Texas, and Brian Bauer, Waco, Texas
Central Arkansas – Robert Bartoszek, Conway, Ark., and Justin Harrell, Mayflower, Ark.
Dallas Baptist University – Jacob Sepeda, Roby, Texas, and Trent Newman, Midlothian, Texas
Hardin-Simmons University – Randy Sullivan, Breckenridge, Texas, and Hubbell Allen, Abilene, Texas
Harding University – Trent Johnson and Ryan Miller, both of Searcy, Ark.
Henderson State – Matt Harper, Jessieville, Ark., and William Reeder, Arkadelphia, Ark.
Lamar University – Danny Iles, Hemphill, Texas, and Justin Royal, Vidor, Texas
Louisiana Tech University – Wade Tracy, Alexandria, La., and Caleb Collins, Monroe, La.
Louisiana State University – Douglas McClung, Gramercy, La., and Mason McCain, Lake Charles, La.
Louisiana State University-Shreveport – Joseph Landry, Shreveport, La., and Gavin Havard, Haughton, La.
McNeese State University – Keith Suire, Jr., Deridder, La., and Andrew Gary, Iowa, La.
Northeastern State University-Broken Arrow – Rod Green, Tahlequah, Okla., and Jimmy Phillips, Wagoner, Okla.
Northeastern State University-Tahlequah – Cale Fulps, Broken Arrow, Okla., and Robert Nicka, Tahlequah, Okla.
Northwestern State – Chantz Wilkinson, Pineville, La., and Mikey Davis, Many, La.
Oklahoma State University – Chuck Major, Tulsa, Okla., and Tripp Elliott, Stillwater, Okla.
Oral Roberts University – Zach Vankeulen, Overland Park, Kan., and Jonathan Williamson, Rocky Point, N.C.
Sam Houston State – Wilson Sartain, Kennard, Texas, and Jason Gunter, Conroe, Texas
Southeastern Louisiana University – Andrew Cavell and Billy Smith III, both of Baton Rouge, La.
Southeastern Oklahoma University – Spencer Barnett, Broken Arrow, Okla., and Jacob Colbert, Allen, Okla.
Southern Arkansas University – James McFadin and Dylan Leverett, both of Heath, Texas
Southwestern Oklahoma State University – Nathan Colwell, Pryor, Okla., and Shane McGlothlin, Anadarko, Okla.
Stephen F. Austin – Eric Warner, Nacogdoches, Texas, and Colby McClary, Sugar Land, Texas
Tarleton State, Stephenville – Colt Farris, Crowley, Texas, and Austin Brown, Pearland, Texas
Texas A&M-Kingsville – Cody Garrett, Kingsville, Texas, and Payne Neessen, Chapman Ranch, Texas
Texas A&M – Cody Collins, College Station, Texas, and Zachary Wymer, Southlake, Texas
Texas A&M-Galveston – Roy Buxton, Dickinson, Texas, and John Wallace, Galveston, Texas
Texas A&M-Corpus Christi – Derek Mangold, Corpus Christi, Texas, and Jonathan Voitle, Magnolia, Texas
Texas State University – David Cosner, Austin, Texas, and Jared Brown, San Marcos, Texas
Texas Tech University – Robert Hawthorne and Jonathon Carter, both of Lubbock, Texas
University of Louisiana-Lafayette – Neil Arnaud, Carencro, La., and Cody McCrary, Baton Rouge, La.
University of Louisiana-Monroe – Paul Clark, Monroe, La., and Brett Preuett, Colfax, La.
University of Arkansas-Little Rock – Jeremy Hall and Trent Gephardt, both of Benton, Ark.
University of Arkansas – Zach Zajicek and Shaughn Reyenga, both of Fayetteville, Ark.
University of North Texas – Jesse Chambers, Irving, Texas, and Sean Watson, Rowlett, Texas
University of Texas – Taylor Sullivan, Corpus Christi, Texas, and Brandon Absher, Gonzales, Texas
University of Texas-Dallas – Adam Hemphill, Richardson, Texas, and Dan Nguyen, Plano, Texas
University of Texas-San Antonio – Joey Mendez, Austin, Texas, and Flavio Robles, Laredo, Texas
University of Texas-Arlington – Todd Fontenot, Arlington, Texas, and Mason Holmes, Kennedale, Texas
Four regular-season qualifying events are held in each conference – Central, Northern, Southeastern, Southern and Western. The top five teams from each qualifying tournament will advance to one of five televised three-day National Guard FLW College Fishing Conference Championships, where the first-place team wins a Ranger 177TR bass boat with a 90-horsepower Evinrude or Mercury outboard. The top five teams from each conference championship advance to the national championship.

College Fishing is free to enter and FLW provides boats and drivers for each competing team along with travel allowances. All participants must be registered, full-time undergraduate students at a four-year college or university and members of a fishing club recognized by their college or university.

For regular updates, photos, tournament news and more, follow College Fishing on Facebook at and on Twitter at Visit to sign up or to start a club at your school.