Fish Explorer Logo
Colorado Fishing
Colorado Fishing  
Login Usr:Psd:
Don't have an account? Register now...
spacer spacer
Colorado Fishing News Back to Colorado Fishing News
Alaska Joins Cooperative Effort to Protect Nation's Wildlife
Colorado Division of Wildlife
On September 8, Alaska became the 30th state to join the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact (IWVC) in a cooperative effort to protect the nation's wildlife resources.

Founded in 1989 by charter states Colorado, Oregon and Nevada, the IWVC is a multi-state program that provides law enforcement agencies greater authority and improved resources to enforce wildlife regulations across state boundaries.

In part, the Compact creates an agreement that allows member states to reciprocate regarding the suspension or revocation of licenses resulting from violations of hunting, fishing and trapping laws. Any person whose license or permit privileges are suspended or revoked in one member state are subject to suspension or revocation in all member states.

"Alaska is a prime destination for fishing and big game hunting, and their membership in the IWVC provides a tremendous deterrent to potential offenders," said Bob Thompson, Colorado Division of Wildlife acting chief of law enforcement. "If a poacher or other violator has their hunting or fishing privileges revoked here in Colorado, they also will lose their privilege to hunt or fish in Alaska, as well as all other Compact member states. This helps to ensure that nonresident violators can't ignore a citation or summons simply by fleeing to their home state."

The Compact also improves interstate communication among law enforcement agencies by providing access to suspension information stored in the IWVC database.

"The IWVC brings together a cooperative effort that enhances the State of Colorado's ability to protect and manage our wildlife resources for the benefit of all residents and visitors," said Thompson. "We are excited this program continues to grow, and Alaska is a great addition and asset towards this effort."

Member states include: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.