Fish Explorer Logo
Colorado Fishing
Colorado Fishing  
Login Usr:Psd:
No account? Register now...
spacer spacer
Colorado Fishing News Back to Colorado Fishing News

2012 Bassmaster Classic field is set

BASS Press Release
On Saturday, Allan Glasgow won the Toyota Tundra Bassmaster Weekend Series Championship presented by American Bass Anglers, claiming the sole remaining 2012 Bassmaster Classic seat.

"To be able to go to the Classic, to do what few anglers have done, is exciting," Glasgow said Monday morning. "Itís just beginning to sink in today."

From Ashville, Ala., Glasgow became the 10th qualifier from Alabama, which had already earned bragging rights as the state with the most entries for 2012. Texas boasts seven qualifiers. Florida, Oklahoma (announced last week as host state of the 2013 Classic) and South Carolina each have three.

Seventeen other states have either one or two anglers in the Feb. 24-26 world championship on the Red River out of Shreveport-Bossier City, La.

Bassmaster Classic 2012 blends the new with the familiar. One "first" will be an entry by the reigning Mercury College B.A.S.S. champion, an honor claimed by Texan Andrew Upshaw he is one of 12 Classic rookies. Longtime Classic veterans include defending champ and four-time winner Kevin VanDam, who will compete in his 22nd consecutive Classic. Denny Brauer, the 1998 Classic winner, will make his 21st Classic appearance.

All qualifiers arrived via one of five avenues, but the majority of the field stemmed from the 2011 Bassmaster Elite Series. Six others traveled the long road of the B.A.S.S. Federation Nation. Four emerged from the 2011 Bass Pro Shops Bassmaster Open divisions. Mercury College B.A.S.S. and the 2011 Weekend Series each produced one qualifier.

The 2012 Classic will be the first in Shreveport-Bossier City since 2009, when Classic attendance records were broken. Daily weigh-ins will take place at Bossier Cityís CenturyLink Center, and the 2012 Bassmaster Classic Outdoor Expo presented by Dickís Sporting Goods will be at the Shreveport Convention Center.

The 49 anglers who will compete in the Feb. 24-26 Classic on the Red River out of Shreveport-Bossier City, La., hail from 22 states. The following list is organized by state, and alphabetically by angler within each state. City of residence is noted.

Alabama: Allan Glasgow, Ashville Jamie Horton, Centreville Timmy Horton, Muscle Shoals Randy Howell, Springville Steve Kennedy, Auburn Chris Lane, Guntersville Aaron Martens, Leeds Keith Poche, Pike Road Gerald Swindle, Warrior Greg Vinson, Wetumpka

Arizona: Dean Rojas, Lake Havasu City

Arkansas: Stephen Browning, Hot Springs

California: Jared Lintner, Arroyo Grande Ish Monroe, Hughson

Florida Shaw Grigsby, Gainesville Bobby Lane, Lakeland Terry Scroggins, San Mateo

Idaho: Brandon Palaniuk, Rathdrum Josh Polfer, Nampa

Indiana: Bill Lowen, Brookville Matt McCoy, Indianapolis

Kansas: Brent Chapman, Lake Quivira

Kentucky: Kevin Wirth, Crestwood

Louisiana: Greg Hackney, Gonzales

Maryland: Chris Price, Church Hill

Michigan: Kevin VanDam, Kalamazoo

Missouri: Denny Brauer, Camdenton Mark Tucker, St. Louis

New Hampshire: John Diaco, Rochester

New Jersey: Michael Iaconelli, Pitts Grove

North Carolina: Dustin Wilks, Rocky Mount

Ohio: Fletcher Shryock, Newcomerstown

Oklahoma: Edwin Evers, Talala Jeff Kriet, Ardmore Fred Roumbanis, Bixby

South Carolina: Casey Ashley, Donalds Davy Hite, Ninety Six Marty Robinson, Lyman

Tennessee: Ott DeFoe, Knoxville David Walker, Sevierville

Texas: Keith Combs, Huntington Todd Faircloth, Jasper Tom Jessop, Dalhart Alton Jones, Waco Takahiro Omori, Emory Matt Reed, Madisonville Andrew Upshaw, Hemphill

Virginia: John Crews, Salem Kelly Pratt, Williamsburg

Operation Game Thief
Call to report illegal fishing/hunting:
Email CPW